Press Releases

14 October 2020
14 October 2020

  • Chandigarh, October 14: Haryana Chief Minister, Mr. Manohar Lal said that the Kharif procurement process is running smoothly. Along with the purchase of paddy in the mandis, the farmers are being paid within seven days and the problem regarding gunny bags has been taken care of.
  • The Chief Minister said this while taking stock of the procurement process in the grain market of Panipat today. He directed the officers of the Food Corporation of India (FCI) and procurement agencies to procure the paddy. He said that payment has been made to those whose Form-I have been approved till October 7, 2020.
  • He also interacted with the farmers and Arthiyas and listened to their problems. To solve the problem of drinking water, the Chief Minister directed the officers to immediately ensure the availability of tankers for drinking water. He urged the farmers to bring the crops to the mandi after drying and said that government has provided relaxation of 17 to 19 percent moisture in the crops.
  • He said that the technical problem of ‘Meri Fasal Mera Byora’ portal has been fixed and it is functonal again. He said that if any farmer wants to bring his paddy crop to the mandis without SMS service, then a provision of up to 25 percent is only there. He also assured that the gate pass problem will be resolved as soon as possible.
  • The Chief Minister said that till date about Rs 700 crore have been released by the State government. Payments of up to Rs 200 crore are being made every day, he added. He said that the State Government is committed to resolving the problems of farmers which is why he is himself inspecting the mandis. The Chief Minister also measured paddy moisture with a moisture measuring machine.
  • MLA, Mr. Pramod Vij, Deputy Commissioner, Mr. Dharmendra Singh, SP, Ms. Manisha Chaudhary, DSP, Mr. Satish Vats were also present on the occasion.
  • Chandigarh, October 14 - Haryana Chief Minister, Mr. Manohar Lal while announcing the names of Dr. Bhim Singh from India and Dr. Aaesha Alnuaimi from United Arab Emirates for the prestigious Kalpana Chawla Haryana Solar Awards said that their contribution in the field of solar energy will always remain a source of inspiration for the scientists. These awardees will be given a reward amount of 24.40 lakh each.
  • The Chief Minister was speaking at the 3rd Conference of International Solar Alliance organized through video conferencing at Haryana Bhavan in New Delhi today.
  • The Chief Minister said that the Kalpana Chawla Haryana Solar Award has been instituted by Haryana Government in the everlasting memory of Astronaut Kalpana Chawla, which will not only encourage the scientists all over the globe to work in the field of solar energy but will also strengthen the movement of Government’s ambitious programme 'Beti Bachao Beti Padhao' which aims at saving the girl child and empowering them with education.
  • The Chief Minister said that on March 17, 1962, Kalpana Chawla was born in Karnal. She had completed her earlier schooling from Karnal and in Aeronautical Engineering from Punjab Engineering College, Chandigarh in 1982.
  • In the same year she moved to the United States and obtained a M.S. degree in Aerospace Engineering in 1984.Thereafter she obtained second M.S. degree in 1986 and a Ph.D. in Aerospace Engineering in 1988, informed the Chief Minister.
  • He said that Kalpana Chawla had joined the NASA Astronaut Corps in 1995 and was selected for her first flight in 1996. She was the first Indian - American astronaut and first Indian woman in space. In 2003, Chawla was one of the seven crew members who died in the Space Shuttle Columbia disaster on February 1, 2003.
  • Mr. Manohar Lal said that it is a matter of great pride for us that the headquarters of International Solar Alliance is situated in Gurugram.
  • The Haryana government had signed an MoU with the International Solar Alliance for the establishment of the Kalpana Chawla Haryana Solar Awards. An overall corpus fund of Rs 10 crore has been earmarked for these awards, said the Chief Minister.
  • It is pertinent to mention that Dr. Bhim Singh is working as Professor in the Department of Electrical Engineering at the Indian Institute of Technology, Delhi, and Dr. Aaesha Alnuaimi working as Director, Solar Innovation Centre at Dubai Electricity and Water Authority in UAE have been selected for the Kalpana Chawla Haryana Solar Award.
  • Dr. Hanif Qureshi, DG, New and Renewable Energy Department was also present in the programme.