Press Releases

18 February 2021

Chandigarh, February 18– Haryana Chief Minister, Sh. Manohar Lal directed the officials concerned to expedite the rejuvenation work of 1890 ponds of the state in a time bound manner for the use of public. These directions were given by the Chief Minister, Mr. Manohar Lal, who is also the Chairperson of Haryana Pond and Waste Water Management Authority (HPWWMA).

During this review meeting of Haryana Pond and Waste Water Management Authority, Executive Vice Chairperson of HPWWMA, Sh. Prabhaker Kumar Verma was also present.

The Chief Minister directed the officials concerned that the contaminated water of drains in the state should be treated and used for fisheries and irrigation purposes. He emphasized to clean the natural rain ponds and maintain them till June 30, 2021. While giving directions to set up a team of youth at the local level to look after the renovated ponds, the Chief Minister said that it is not only necessary to focus on construction of ponds but also to maintain them. He said that presently if there is any encroachment on ponds, then prepare a report regarding the same and bring it to the notice of the authorities concerned so that appropriate action can be taken.

It was informed at the meeting that as per the orders issued by the Government, a total of 905 ponds have been completed under the various schemes during fiscal year 2019-20 and 2020-21 and construction work of 756 ponds is about to be completed soon. Currently in the 18 model ponds, the used water of the houses is being allowed to flow into the ponds only after being treated by Constructed Wetland Technology and the rejuvination of the proposed 200 ponds in 2020-21 will be started soon.

Among those present in the meeting included Chief Principal Secretary to Chief Minister, Sh. D.S Dhesi, Principal Secretary to Chief Minister, Sh. V. Umashankar, Additional Principal Secretary to Chief Minister, Dr. Amit Kumar Agrawal, Additional Chief Secretary, Revenue & Disaster Management, Sh. Sanjeev Kaushal, Additional Chief Secretary, Finance and Planning, Sh. T.V.S.N. Prasad, Deputy Principal Secretary to Chief Minister, Smt. Ashima Brar, Additional Chief Secretary, Irrigation and Water Resources, Sh. Devender Singh, Additional Chief Secretary, Development & Panchayats, Sh. Amit Jha and Principal Secretary, Forests and Wildlife, Smt. G. Anupama, and other senior officers.